We’ve been waiting for you!!

Sometimes, when I hear these words I feel a little embarrassed and, most probably, I blush. Yet, now, I was so happy to hear them, especially coming from the captain himself!!๐Ÿ˜

My vacation is about to be finished…tomorrow I’ll fly away, leaving another 4 months experience behind and approaching a new one back in Romania.

I’m not always as punctual as I would like to be, maybe most of the time.๐Ÿ˜ฌ I’m really trying, though, and sometimes I’m successful. Yet, not this time! Maybe it wasn’t my fault completely, but still…

My lyft came on time, I surprised my driver with all my baggage (about three bags๐Ÿ˜„), squeezed all inside the car, and we started toward the airport. He was a nice guy who needed some sleep after driving all night long and I was a nice girl who was happy for having some hours of sleep after a previous night of no sleep at all.๐Ÿ˜‚

We managed to arrive on time, even though the highway was closed somewhere on the way. At check-in I noticed that there were no people to attend passengers, we had to do it on our own. I had to pay for my multiple bags, but, the machine would not give me change, and, of course, I didn’t have the right amount. So there I was, walking through the airport asking people to change me some money, since it was 5:00am and the stores wouldn’t help me with that. It took me courage but, happily, I didn’t have to do it more than once. The first person I asked was able to answer my need.๐Ÿ˜Š I ran to finally finish my check-in so I can go to the next stop. You cannot imagine the surprise I had when I reached the security checkpoint!! I did not see in the whole airport so many people as there were in that place. The queue was so long, that I had to go to the parking lot to reach its end, and I’m not joking!!๐Ÿ˜‚ I went to the exit door to get in line!! At this point some sort of despair began slowly but surely burning inside of me. I fought against it, and I tried to keep myself calm, hopeful, and confident that God will help me through this also. ย I checked again when would the boarding time be finished, I thought maybe I can get there before the last minutes… I checked my watch, and noticed that time was running as I was slowly advancing in the line. I didn’t know if I had to try doing something or just wait patiently. I asked two-three people around me about their flight time and I realized that I was not the only one in that situation. I thought, then, maybe the airlines won’t afford to lose so many passangers. Eventually, I was ready to go, and while I was putting my sandals on, I glanced my watch again just to see that my boarding time was over like five minutes ago. I ran all the way to the gate and I realized what other people were feeling when they were called or running to catch their flight while I was sitting quietly waiting. At last, I stepped in the airplane and there he was,ย beside two flight attendants, the captain himself turned to me and ย with a smile said kindly, “We’ve been waiting for you!” I did not feel embarrassed at all this time; I felt truly happy!! โ˜บ๏ธ I smiled to him back, I thanked him honestly, and I was breathing again as I was going to my seat.

I was just reading from a book the other day about how we might not be included in all big events, like shooting a movie, a space shuttle launch, Oscars, or the White House Easter egg hunt. And yet, each one of us receives every day an invitation. An invitation to life, an invitation to live a life full of engagement, of love, where we do not only speak about things, but we also do things. Wouldn’t it be amazing to answer that invitation, to live big and beautiful, and to hear from the Author of life himself, “I’ve been waiting for you!” ?

Leave a Reply

